Monasteries of the Heart

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty. View all courses and retreats.

Everything Human Begins with Humility: New Year Retreat

Everything Human Begins with Humility: New Year Retreat

We are entering into a new year, full of new challenges and new possibilities for our global community. As Benedictines, we know that the monastic journey is the human journey, and everything human begins with humility. Joan Chittister writes that Benedict’s steps of humility are “12 steps to inner freedom,” and lead us into “a spirituality of right relationships.” In short, humility is the compass that grounds us in deeper love and wider compassion. This understanding of humility is exactly what we need for the inner work and outer work that lays ahead in 2021. 

Join us as we explore this Benedictine wisdom in a half-day retreat including prayer, reflection, and discussion. Using Joan Chittister’s writings, we will explore what humility has to offer us as we take steps forward into this new year. 

This will take place live on Zoom, and you will receive the Zoom link after registering. Access to recording and resources will be available for all registrants for six months. 

Details:
Saturday, Jan 23, 2021
12:00 - 4:00 p.m. ET / 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. PT

SESSION 1: Humility as Inner Freedom
90-minute morning session (12:00 - 1:30 p.m. ET / 9:00 - 10:30 a.m. PT) 

BREAK
60-minute open space (1:30 - 2:30 p.m. ET / 10:30 - 11:30 a.m. PT)

SESSION 2: Spirituality of Right Relationships
90-minute afternoon session (2:30 - 4:00 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. PT)

$20.00